↑ Return to Quickies

Short Fiction Opportunities

This area is updated regularly. Know of an opportunity that isn’t here? Email us!  Nancy@theRedPenCoach.com 

Short story publishing opportunities are constantly changing. Please review the submission guidelines for each company to ensure your story fits the correct length and theme.

*Note – Before you agree to sell something to an online publication, be sure to investigate the publisher, as The Red Pen Coach cannot ensure the reputation or the quality of the publishers listed. But here is a great article on how to go about this investigation.

http://www.writersrelief.com/blog/2010/04/online-literary-journals-how-to-determine-quality-and-reputation

Anthologies

 

  1. Meerkat Press (1k and up) – http://meerkatpress.com/submissions/
  2. Ellora’s Cave (10k ad up, some anthology work as well) – https://www.ellorascave.com/about-elloras-cave/write-for-ec/
  3. Ravenous Romance (lengths vary and may include anthologies) – http://www.ravenousromance.com/general/submission-guidelines.php

Online Magazines

 

  1. Fireside Fiction Companyhttp://www.firesidefiction.com/submissions/
  2. Vestal Review (Flash Fiction, 500 words) – http://www.vestalreview.org/guidelines/
  3. Timeless Tales Magazines (Fairy Tales & Myths, Short Stories) – http://www.timelesstalesmagazine.com/#!submissions/c1vmu
  4. One Teen Story (teen themes) – http://www.oneteenstory.com/index.php?page=submit
  5. Rattle Single parent magazine (says poetry but they accept essays and short stories) – http://www.rattle.com/poetry/submissions/calls/
  6. Being a Grown-up – Magazine on growing up –http://beingagrownupbook.blogspot.ca/

Novellas via E-Publishing Houses or E-First Houses

 

  1. Riptide Publishing (LGBT, 15k and up) – http://riptidepublishing.com/call-for-submissions
  2. Books To Go Now (10k and up) – http://bookstogonow.com/submissions/
  3. Liquid Silver Books (10k and up) – http://www.lsbooks.com/submission-calls-w15.php
  4. Totally Entwined (10k and up) – http://www.totallyboundpublishing.com/submissions/submission-calls/
  5. Prizm Books (10k and up) – http://www.prizmbooks.com/specialcalls.html
  6. Heroes and Heartbreakers (15k and up) – http://www.heroesandheartbreakers.com/page/submissions
  7. Ellora’s Cave (10k ad up, some anthology work as well) – https://www.ellorascave.com/about-elloras-cave/write-for-ec/
  8. Solstice Publishing (lengths vary per imprint) https://solsticepublishing.submittable.com/submit
  9. Ravenous Romance (lengths vary and may include anthologies) – http://www.ravenousromance.com/general/submission-guidelines.php
  10. Siren – Bookstrand (20k and up) – http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/submissions/
  11. Entangled – 15k min – http://www.entangledpublishing.com/submission-information/
  12. Samhain Publishing – 12K minimum – https://www.samhainpublishing.com/static/write
  13. Carina Press – 35K min – http://carinapress.com/blog/submission-guidelines/
  14. Tirgearr Publishing – 20K min – http://www.tirgearrpublishing.com/submissions/submission-guidelines.htm
  15. Wild Rose Publishing – 7.5K min – http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=page&id=102